Thesis Defense

2020 - 2021

* MD-PhD student

*Phyllis Thangaraj: January 2020
Sponsor: Nicholas Tatonetti
Thesis Title: Electronic health record-derived phenotyping models to improve genomic research in stroke

*Ryan Dhindsa: March 2020
Sponsor: David Goldstein
Thesis Title: Deciphering gene dysregulation in disease through population and functional genomics

Hannah Levitin:  April 2020
Sponsor: Peter Sims
Thesis Title: Biological inference from Single Cell RNA-Sequencing

*Andrew Chen: April 2020
Sponsor:  Raul Rabadan
Thesis Title: Spatial and genomic analysis of the glioblastoma tumor microenvironment

Jimin Park: May 2020
Sponsor:  Harris Wang
Thesis Title: Systematic dissection of σ70 sequence diversity and function in bacteria

*Steven Su: June 2020
Sponsor: Ellen Ezratty
Thesis Title: Characterization of primary cilia and Intraflagellar Transport 20 in the Epidermis

*Daniel Paik: June 2020
Sponsor: Donna Farber
Thesis Title: Local T cell responses to heterosubtypic influenza challenge

Gilman Donne: July 2020
Sponsor:  Lawrence Shapiro
Thesis Title: Structural and biophysical studies of hair cell mechanotransduction proteins

Pedro Baldera-Aguayo: July 2020
Sponsor: Virginia Cornish
Thesis Title:  Engineering yeasts for in situ production of fungal tetracyclines

Thomas Blazejewski: September 2020
Sponsor:  Harris Wang
Thesis Title: Generative models for synthetic biology

Daniel Costantini: September 2020
Sponsor: Richard Axel
Thesis Title: Neuronal topography in a cortical circuit for innate odor valence

*Katherine Luo: September 2020
Sponsor: Iva Greenwald
Thesis Title: Regulation of the LIN-12/notch core nuclear complex components in C. elegans reproductive development

Jared Sampson: October 2020
Sponsor:  Lawrence Shapiro
Thesis Title: The pH-sensing mechanism of antibody recycling by the neonatal Fc receptor revealed using free energy perturbation calculations

Siying Chen: November 2020
Sponsor: Yufeng Shen
Thesis Title: Integration of functional genomic data in genetic analysis

*Alyssa Klein: December 2020
Sponsor: Carol Prives
Thesis Title: A p53-independent role for MDM2/MDMX in cell cycle progression

Elizaveta Bashkirova: December 2020
Sponsor: Stavros Lomvardas
Thesis Title: Spatially determined olfactory receptor choice is regulated by NFI-dependent heterochromatin silencing and genomic compartmentalization

*Bohao Liu: December 2020
Sponsor: Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic
Thesis Title: Leveraging the potential of human iPSC-derived cardiomyocytes: From modeling congenital heart disease to treating myocardial infarction

Tiffany Tate: February 2021
Sponsor: Cathy Mendelsohn
Thesis Title: Pparg drives luminal differentiation and luminal tumor formation in the urothelium

James Murithi: May 2021
Sponsor:  David Fidock
Thesis Title: Dissecting the mechanisms of antiplastmodial resistance in Plasmodium falciparum

Sreyan Chowdhury: May 2021
Sponsors: Tal Danino and Nick Arpaia
Thesis Title: Engineered bacteria for cancer immunotherapy

*Elizabeth Ha: May 2021
Sponsor:  Robert Bauer
Thesis Title: Adipocyte-specific Tribbles-1 regulates plasma adiponectin and lipoprotein metabolism in mice

Sunny Jones: May 2021
Sponsor: Andrea Califano
Thesis Title: Multi-omics precision oncology pipeline to elucidate mechanistic determinants of gastroesophageal tumor subtypes as candidate dependencies 

Tyler Halpin-Haley: May 2021
Sponsor: Samuel Sternberg
Thesis Title: Structure and function of a transposon-encoded CRISPR-Cas system

Micah Rapp: June 2021
Sponsor:  Lawrence Shapiro and Bridget Carragher
Thesis Title: Visualizing cell surface interaction using cryogenic electron microscopy

Sara Viragova: June 2021
Sponsor: Piero Dalerba
Thesis Title: Phenotypic dissection and therapeutic manipulation of cell differentiation programs in the salivary gland epithelium and human Adenoid Cystic Carcinomas

Lia Boyle: June 2021
Sponsor:  Wendy Chung and Vincent Gennarino
Thesis Title: A precision medicine approach to understanding KIF1A associated neurological disorder

Brianna Costabile: July 2021
Sponsor:  Filippo Mancia
Thesis Title: Structural and functional characterization of the retinol-binding protein receptor STRA6